WELCOME POST: Violet Made of Thorns by Gina Chen

Happy Sunday, y’all!

We are so excited to be launching our MEGA tour for Gina Chen’s highly anticipated Violet Made of Thorns. This teen fantasy novel will have you falling feet first into the world and character’s shoes, and we hope you are just as excited as we are to be celebrating its release!

On this two-week long tour, we have many bookstagram, book blog, and booktok stops heading your way from all of our wonderful hosts. If you haven’t already, be sure to follow our hosts, the author, and us on social media so you don’t miss out!

Today, we are bringing you an EXCLUSIVE interview with author Gina Chen and launching our tour-long giveaway. Do be sure to add Violet Made of Thorns to your TBR list and don’t miss out on pre-ordering it!


VMOT Cover8
Violet Made of Thorns (Violet Made of Thorns, #1)
by Gina Chen
Published by Delacorte Press
Releasing on July 26th, 2022
Young Adult Fiction—Fantasy, Romance

pre-order-button-SPH-300x93   addtogoodreads-script_26_orig

A darkly enchanting fantasy debut about a morally gray witch, a cursed prince, and a prophecy that ignites their fate-twisted destinies—perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and Serpent & Dove.

Violet is a prophet and a liar, influencing the royal court with her cleverly phrased—and not always true—divinations. Honesty is for suckers, like the oh-so-not charming Prince Cyrus, who plans to strip Violet of her official role once he’s crowned at the end of the summer—unless Violet does something about it.

But when the king asks her to falsely prophesy Cyrus’s love story for an upcoming ball, Violet awakens a dreaded curse, one that will end in either damnation or salvation for the kingdom—all depending on the prince’s choice of future bride. Violet faces her own choice: Seize an opportunity to gain control of her own destiny, no matter the cost, or give in to the ill-fated attraction that’s growing between her and Cyrus.

Violet’s wits may protect her in the cutthroat court, but they can’t change her fate. And as the boundary between hatred and love grows ever thinner with the prince, Violet must untangle a wicked web of deceit in order to save herself and the kingdom—or doom them all.

5

Can you tell us a bit about yourself and Violet Made of Thorns?

Hello, I’m Gina! When I’m not being an author, I code, design, play claw machines and collect way too many plushies. Violet Made of Thorns is about a cynical, caustic Seer who doesn’t always tell the truth about her prophecies. She gets entangled with the crown prince, and she has to figure out what role she has in the fairy tale that plays out—whether she’ll be hero or villain.

What were your favorite and least favorite parts about developing your characters from the beginning to the end of the story?

I live in Violet’s headspace in order to write her narration. Sometimes it’s fun because she’s being delightfully stubborn and observant. Sometimes it’s terrible because she is miserable and spiraling and I also have to exist in that headspace. But it’s always worth it once I complete a scene and it feels emotionally fleshed out and true to her character.

Is there a character (in any piece of media) that you wish you could be for one day?

I would love to experience the Moving Castle and fly around in a bright wizard cape, so I’d like to be Howl. I’d cause so much trouble given 24 hours.

What are your thoughts on the impact of social media surrounding publishing and books?

I think the kind of social media we have today encourages people to look at authors and other creatives as a commercial brand or someone far more removed, but chances are, they’re probably your librarian or teacher. I’m just someone who used to work on websites. On my own socials, I try not to glamorize publishing, because it’s a business and not always a fair one. Publishing a book is a dream, but I’m also aware I’m creating a product for consumption and that involves luck and privilege that not everyone has.

Were there any authors or other creators that inspired or influenced you?

I grew up on authors like Gail Carson Levine, Tamora Pierce, and Terry Pratchett, and I think you can see their marks in my writing, especially in my sense of humor. For Violet, I was also heavily influenced by contemporary coming-of-ages, especially ones that are like a diary or where the narrator breaks the fourth wall. I wrote Violet’s narration as if she is speaking to a reader beside her.

Are you currently working on any other projects, and if so, could you give us any small details?

I have other fantasy worlds I’d like to share with readers one day, but I try to keep details close to my chest until they’re more solidified. I think they’re all pretty different from Violet though. At least one is a contemporary fantasy!

Finally, what do you hope readers take away from your book?

Mostly, I hope they have fun reading it. I had a lot of ideas I wanted to express, but ultimately, whatever readers take from my book—whatever they see in Violet and her choices and feelings—is personal to them.

3

Gina Chen AuthorGina Chen spent most of her life thinking she hated writing, until she churned out a few hundred thousand words of fanfiction and decided that maybe she was a writer. Her stories lean toward the fantastic, featuring heroines, antiheroines, and the kind of cleverness that brings trouble in its wake.

A self-taught artist with a degree in computer science, she generates creative nonsense in all forms of media and always has a project stewing. She has particular fondness for fairy tales, demon tales, romantic comedies, and quiz shows. Currently, she resides in Southern California, where the sunshine is as plentiful as its tea shops.


TOUR SCHEDULE

Blogs

July 24th

Turn the Page Tours – Welcome Post
Sanjariti Reads – Review

July 25th

Book Corner – Review & Favorite Quotes
Beers Books Boos – Spotlight
Tales of a Book Bug – Review & Guest Post

July 26th

Radusreads – Review

July 27th

Bookwrm Bonomini – Review

July 28th

This Soul’s Devouring Words – Review & Favorite Quotes

July 29th

Moonchild Lexicons – Review & Favorite Quotes

July 30th

Read in the Clouds – Review

July 31st

Inking & Thinking – Review & Author Interview

August 1st

Lemmi Bookmark That! – Review & Favorite Quotes

August 2nd

Sadie’s Spotlight – Opening Line

August 3rd

Little Corner Reads – Author Interview

August 4th

Book Butterfly in Dreamland – Review

August 5th

teatimelit – Review & Author Guest Post
Vivaciously Vintage – Favorite Quotes

August 6th

bookloversbookreviews – Review
Belle’s Archive – Review


Bookstagram

July 24th

@turnthepagetours
@novelishreads
@sanjariti

July 25th

@thebookishmusician
@beersbooksandboos
@delightful.reading

July 26th

@thebookscript
@readsbyradus
@libraryofretellingsandstars

July 27th

@zombiepandabooks
@thereadingroom444
@eclecticbookwrm

July 28th

@britton.ajohn
@smagzisreading
@studioad_anjali

July 29th

@hooked.by.books
@evergirl200
@theenchantedshelf

July 30th

@missbeckagee
@pcreads
@shadow.and.tome

July 31st

@bbyo.dabb
@rebireads
@brittmariereadshere

August 1st

@stacialovestoread
@lemmibookmarkthat
@fictional_world_traveler

August 2nd

August 3rd

@wraithreads
@piscesbooklover
@littlecornerreads

August 4th

@purpleshadowhunter
@booksandgreycats

August 5th

@cossettereads
@booksnbobawitherika

August 6th

@bookloversbookreviews
@tinybooknest


BookTok

July 24th

@turnthepagetours – Book Introduction

July 25th

@beersbooksandboos – Review

July 26th

@thebookscript – Popular BookTok Trend ft. Violet Made of Thorns

July 28th

@brittonajohn – Quote Reading

July 30th

@booksandgreycats – Review

July 31st

@rebireads – Popular BookTok Trend ft. Violet Made of Thorns

August 1st

@pagesofbellerose – Quote Reading

August 2nd

@___magnus_chase___ – Review

August 3rd

@wraithreads – Review

August 4th

@purpleshadowhunter75 – Spotlight

August 5th

@offictionandfantasy – Review

August 6th

@bookloversbookreviews – Review

7

Up for grabs we have ONE (1) finished copy of Violet Made of Thorns by Gina Chen. This giveaway will be available from July 24th to August 7th at 11:59 PM CST. Open to US residents only. No giveaway accounts allowed. To enter, click the button below!

thin-gray-enter-button-hi

Advertisement

2 thoughts on “WELCOME POST: Violet Made of Thorns by Gina Chen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s