TOUR SIGN-UPS: Beauty and the Besharam

Hi, y’all!

We’re so thrilled to be bringing you our upcoming creative blog and bookstagram tour for Lillie Vale’s Beauty and the Besharam. Perfect for fans of the Wibbroka writing duo and Jennifer Yen, this contemporary Beauty and the Beast retelling is sure to win your heart.

This tour will be taking place from May 1st through 7th. We’ll be looking for 14-21 hosts per tour portion, and we’ll be prioritizing those who identify with the listed representation. Digital copies will be provided via NetGalley, no physical copies will be available.

Representation: Diaspora Asian-American, LGBTQIA+

Looking to join the host team? Click the button below! For more information on the book, please continue to scroll through this post.

sign-up-button-png-sign-up-button-png-image-28471-600


DELETE8
Beauty and the Besharam
by Lillie Vale
Releasing on May 10th, 2022
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers
Young Adult Fiction—Contemporary, Romance, Retellings > Beauty and the Beast

pre-order-button-SPH-300x93    addtogoodreads-script_26_orig

Heated competition leads to even hotter romance in this YA summer rom-com for fans of Sandhya Menon, Emma Lord, and Wibbroka.

Seventeen-year-old, high-achieving Kavya Joshi has always been told she’s a little too ambitious, a little too mouthy, and overall just a little too much. In one word: besharam.

So, when her nemesis, Ian Jun, witnesses Kavya’s very public breakup with her loser boyfriend on the last day of junior year, she decides to lay low and spend the summer doing what she loves best–working part time playing princess roles for childrens’ birthday parties. But her plan is shot when she’s cast as Ariel instead of her beloved Belle, and learns that Ian will be her Prince Eric for the summer. [Cue the combative banter.]

Exhausted by Kavya and Ian’s years-long feud, their friends hatch a plan to end their rivalry by convincing them to participate in a series of challenges throughout the summer. Kavya is only too eager to finally be declared the winner. But as the competition heats up, so too does the romantic tension, until it escalates from a simmer to a full-on burn.

TRIGGER/CONTENT WARNING(S): cheating (not between the heroine and the love interest. Early in the book, the heroine catches her then-boyfriend cheating – this relationship is ended swiftly), death of a sibling (love interest’s younger sister, death occurred off-page many years earlier, brief mentions of grief)

3

Lillie Vale is the author of books for both teens and adults, including The Decoy GirlfriendBeauty and the BesharamThe Shaadi Set-Up and Small Town Hearts, an American Library Association’s 2020 Rainbow Books List selection. She writes about secrets and yearning, complicated and ambitious girls who know what they want, the places we call home and people we find our way back to, and the magic we make. Born in Mumbai, she grew up in Mississippi, Texas, and North Dakota, and now lives in an Indiana college town. Find her on Twitter @LillieLabyrinth and Instagram @labyrinthspine, or visit her website lillielabyrinth.com.

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s